British 10k….tick!

So I did it! I completed the British 10k race in London yesterday morning in 1 hour and 21 minutes. Which for me and my beginner legs is pretty damn good I think!

It was a fab day and I’ve had a lovely weekend staying with my sisters friend, Helen and her family. Helen joined me for the run and we are already planning our next 10k event!

I’d done the distance before but not having done the route and struggling the last few weeks with my training I was still pretty nervous. When I first signed up for it I told myself I just wanted to complete it….timing didn’t matter and even if I had to walk a bit it wouldn’t be the end of the world. But the closer it got the more I wanted to be able to run it all and get a half decent time….well, for a newbie.

So after a fairly early start we headed into London yesterday morning and I was pretty relaxed until we found ourselves packed into the 20,000 crowd of runners waiting for the race to start. It was a strange feeling. Excitement, nerves and a sense of pride all at the same time. Helen reminded me of where I was this time last year and how far I’d come since and I found myself having a little sob just thinking about it all.

It was a bit of a slow start with so many people taking part. Took us 15 minutes just to get over the starting line but once we did my legs switched into running mode and I was off. I’m not going to lie the idea of having a little walk crossed my mind so many times after the 3km mark but somehow I found myself just carrying on. The crowds and entertainment made for a great atmosphere along the way which really helped. My parents had come down and seeing them at the 8km marker cheering me on really helped me and my tired legs get to the end. I was so exhausted at this point but I was determined not to give up and walk so I kept pushing and after a torturous stretch along Victoria St we turned a few corners and suddenly I could see the finish line. And of course I found that little burst of energy that I’d saved to help me sprint to the end and all of a sudden it was all over!! I’d done it! 🙂

I honestly don’t think I’ve been more proud myself. To go from not being able to run at all to completing a 10km race in only 3 and a half months. Sorry but…yay me!! Haha! So what’s next….got a few more events this year including that ridiculous obstacle race. And I will continue to do a few more 10k races but next year I definitely want to up the game. Soooo….bring on the Great North Run!! 🙂 🙂